• Free Article 3 - My travels around the United Kingdom

    Hi!

    For this third article about my travels in the Uk, I will talk with you about three trips I made during my stay in England. The first one was in Blackpool, the second one was in Windermere and the Lake District, and the third one was in York.

     

    Blackpool

    Free Article 3 - My travels around the United KingdomBlackpool is located at 37 miles from Lancaster and it takes just under an hour to get there by train. This is a rather popular seaside resort that attracts many tourists from northern England. Among its attractions are Blackpool Tower (built in 1893), the beach, an amusement park (the Pleasure Beach) and a zoo (Blackpool Zoo, opened in 1972, which features more than 1,500 animals from all around the world). It is also an artistic vibrant city with many theaters and shows of all kinds.

    For adding, as in each of my Free Article, a small football and cultural touch, we can note that the city has a professional football team: Blackpool FC. This is not a major club in English football, indeed it has evolved in the Premier League only during the 2010-2011 season, but it exists since 1877 and remains in the second division since that time. For the record, it has evolved into its ranks the first Golden Ball in the history: Stanley Matthews, awarded in 1953.

    I went there 6 times during my semester, I went to the Zoo, see the sea and the beach several times and went to see a burlesque show. I enjoyed a lot this city due to is location close to the sea which was really pleasant.

    Here, as for each of my trips, a small summary video!

     

    Windermere and the Lake District

    Free Article 3 - My travels around the United KingdomWindermere is located at around 30 miles from Lancaster and it takes 40 minutes to get there by train.

    Lake Windermere is the largest natural lake in England with an area of 14.73 km². It is part of the Lake District National Park, created in 1951, which is the largest national park in England. It consists of 55 km from the lakes, mountains and forests. Many tourists from We meet them hiking, mountain biking, sailing...

    I went there on April 18th, 2015 with my roommates. I found that it was a very charming, peaceful and poetic place with beautiful landscapes. We also found a small area directly overlooking the lake, a little bit isolated, which can be reached moving away from the main path and going down a few small rocks, hidden behind trees.

    Here is the video of this beautiful place!

     

    York

    Free Article 3 - My travels around the United KingdomYork is located at 118 miles from Lancaster and it takes around 3 hours to get there by train.

    It is a typical English town with strong medieval influences. Indeed, the city was one of the largest in England during the Middle Ages thanks to the wool trade. It began to decline with the industrial revolution. However, many buildings from the Middle Ages remained intact. After a renovation program in the XIXth century, York became a major tourist destination, thanks to its Cathedral York Minster (XVth century) which is the largest Gothic building in Northern Europe. Another vestige from medieval times is York Castle, built in the XIth century and Clifford's Tower. It takes its name from Roger de Clifford who, after his capture during the Battle of Boroughbridge, opposing rebel barons to King Edward II of England (during the wars of independence of Scotland XIIIth - XIVth century), was hanged on top of this tower, on March, 16th 1322.

    I went there on May, 7th. Here is a little recap video of my visit in this lovely city!

     

     

    I hope that you enjoyed this article! Thanks for still reading me!

    See you!

    Emilie

    « Free Article 2 - My travels around the United KingdomFree Article 4 - My travels around the United Kingdom »

  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: